MINUTES OF MEETING Ulysses Board of Education Unified School District No. 214 - Grant County

The Board met in Regular Session on Monday, December 11, 2023, at 6:00 p.m.

Members Present: Clay Scott

Ron Smith Mike Meyer Diana Nunez Daron Cowan Nichole Winner Jamie Kratzer

Members Absent:

Others Present: Superintendent Corey Burton, Assistant Superintendent

& Director of Student Learning Kevin Warner

* Others - See List

Others Absent:

1. **CALL TO ORDER:** The meeting was called to order by President Clay Scott at 6:00 p.m.

2. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

- 3. **ADOPTION OF AGENDA:** Jamie Kratzer made a motion to adopt the agenda. Second by Diana Nunez- motion carried 7-0.
- 4. NON-ACTION PUBLIC FORUM:
- 5. <u>CORRESPONDENCE:</u> The BOE read a thank you note for the UHS Musical. Superintendent Burton also presented the BOE with the Grant County Gives Donor List for the USD 214 Teacher Recruitment Fund.
- 6. **CONSENT AGENDA:** Jamie Kratzer motioned to approve the consent agenda as presented Second by Diana Nunez- motion carried 7-0.
 - a. Approval of Minutes:
 - i. Regular Board of Education meeting November 13, 2023
 - b. Approval of Bills:
 - i. Approved the transfer from the General Fund on an "as needed basis" to cover expenses attributed to the Food Service, Transportation, Vocational Education, and Bilingual Special Funds and to pay bills in the amount of \$243,453.85

c. **High Plains Education Cooperative Board Min (HPEC):** November 16, 2023

7. **REPORTS:**

- a. **Student and/or Staff report:** No Reports this month
- b. **Principal Reports -** The building principals submitted written reports to the BOE
- c. **Assistant Superintendent/Director of Student Learning Report:** Mr. Warner gave a short report about the KESA process for 2023-2024, an update on the math textbook adoption process, District SITE Council, Professional development, and District Benchmark Assessments.
- d. **Superintendent Report:** Superintendent Corey Burton gave a verbal report to the Board of Education about upcoming events in the district, KMS Concession Stand, LOB Resolution, and the HPEC Interlocal Agreement Amendment.

8. NEW BUSINESS:

a. **Proposed BOE policy changes:** The first read for the BOE on the updated BOE policy changes from KASB.

9. OLD BUSINESS:

- a. **FFA Farm:** Superintendent Corey Burton gave an update on the progress of the FFA School Farm improvements.
- b. **USD 214 Daycare:** Superintendent Corey Burton gave an update on the USD 214 Daycare.

10. ACTION ITEMS:

- a. **Early Retirement/Early Resignation Incentive:** Jamie Kratzer made the motion to approve the Early Retirement/Early Resignation Incentive plan of \$1,000, and letters must be submitted to the Superintendent by 12:00 p.m. on January 8, 2024 to be eligible for Early Retirement/Early Resignation Incentive. Second by Mike Meyer—motion carried 7-0.
- b. **GMCN Agreement:** Daron Cowan motioned to approve the agreement/contract with GMCN for the Hickok School Summer of 2024 project- Second by Mike Meyer motion carried 7-0.
- c. **Donations**: Jamie Kratzer motioned to approve the acceptance of the donations from HUGS/Pioneer Electric Grant for \$500 (Fahren Crawford's art classes), HUGS/Pioneer Electric Grant for \$5,000 (Sullivan Library), BCBS Healthy Habit for Life Grant for \$2,000 (Interactive Furniture), Dream First Bank Thank a Farmer Day for \$2,500 (FFA) Second by Diana Nunez–motion carried 7-0.

11. **EXECUTIVE SESSION:** None

12. PERSONNEL:

- a. **Resignations:** Mike Meyer motioned to accept the resignation of Timothy Hofferber (UHS PE).- Second by Diana Nunez- motion carried 7-0.
- b. Contracts: Mike Meyer made the motion to accept the contracts of Andrew Cole (Director of Operations & Transportation), Jeremiah Wise (KMS Assistant 8th Grade Boys Basketball), Diamonte Pounds (KMS Assistant 7th Grade Boys Basketball), Nic Boe (KMS Head 7th Grade Boys Basketball) - Seconded by Diana Nunez- motion carried 7-0.

13. **NEGOTIATIONS**:

14. **OTHER:**

a. Special Recognition- Board members presented plagues to President Clay Scott and Jamie Kratzer, who are outgoing board members.

15. ADJOURNMENT:

a. At 6:48 p.m., President Clay Scott made a motion to adjourn. - Second by Jamie Kratzer- motion carried 7-0.

President Clay Scott	Vice-President Ron Smith
Board Member Diana Nunez	Board Member Daron Cowan
Board Member Mike Meyer	Board Member Nichole Winner
Board Member Jamie Kratzer	Asst. Board Clerk Kevin Warner

Board Clerk: Dawn Oakes Recorded by: Kevin Warner

*Attachments