# MINUTES OF MEETING Ulysses Board of Education Unified School District No. 214 - Grant County

The Board met in **Special** Session **Wednesday**, **May 17**, **2023 at 7:00 p.m.** 

**Members Present:** President Clay Scott

Vice-President Ron Smith

Mike Meyer Jamie Kratzer Diana Nunez Daron Cowan Nichole Winner

**Members Absent:** 

Others Present: Superintendent Corey Burton & Asst. Superintendent Kevin Warner

**Others Absent:** 

- 1) **CALL TO ORDER:** The meeting was called to order by President Clay Scott at 7:00 p.m.
- 2) PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE:
- 3) **ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA:** Jamie Kratzer made a motion to approve the agenda as presented Second by Daron Cowan- Motion carried 7-0.

### 4) ACTION ITEMS:

- a) **Adopt USD 214 Bond Committe Recommendation:** Jamie Kratzer made a motion to approve the USD 214 Bond Committee recommendation to request the City of Ulysses to support an election of a 1% sales tax to support the upcoming school bond. Second by Diana Nunez. Motion carried 7-0.
- b) **FFA Farm Improvements:** Jamie Kratzer made a motion to approve the low bid from Metcalf Trucking, Inc for \$100,759.50 for the FFA Farm improvement project. Second by Mike Meyer.- Motion carried 7-0

### 5) **DISCUSSION:**

a) **Grant County Recreation Commission Board Appointment:** Superintendent announced that the GCRC Board will have an opening with a retirement of a GCRC Board member. The GCRC Board advertisement will be published in the news. USd 214 BOE will conduct interviews June 7 or June 8, 2023. Applications will be due June 5, 2023 at 12:00 p.m. The USD 214 Board Committee for the GCRC Board appointment will be Ron Smith, Nichole Winner, and Mike Meyer. The committee will make a recommendation at the June Regular BOE meeting.

## 6) **PESONNEL:**

a) **Contracts:** Vice-President made the motion to approve the contract of Natasha Sabata (UHS Science). - seconded by Nichole Winner. Motion caried 7-0.

## 7) **ADJOURNMENT:**

a) At 7:09 p.m. Jamie Kratzer made a motion to adjourn- Second by Diana Nunez.- Motion carried 7-0.

President Clay Scott	Vice-President Ron Smith
Board Member Diana Nunez	Board Member Daron Cowan
Board Member Mike Meyer	Board Member Nichole Winner
Board Member Jamie Kratzer	Board Clerk Dawn Oakes

Board Clerk: Dawn Oakes Recorded by: Kevin Warner

\*Attachments