MINUTES OF MEETING **Ulysses Board of Education Unified School District No. 214 - Grant County**

The Board met in **Regular** Session **Monday**, **April 13**, **2020** at **7:00** p.m.

Members Present: President Margaret Nightengale

Vice President Jim Wilson

Jamie Kratzer Mike Mever Diana Nunez Clav Scott Ron Smith

Members Absent:

Others Present: Superintendent Dave Younger

Assistant Superintendent Chad Krug

* Others - See List

Others Absent:

- **CALL TO ORDER:** The virtual meeting, conducted via Facebook Live, was 1) called to order by President Nightengale at 7:00 pm.
- 2) *ADOPTION OF AGENDA: The agenda was adopted on a motion by Jamie Kratzer — seconded by Clay Scott — motion carried 6-0.
- 3) **CONSENT AGENDA:** Superintendent Younger reviewed the Consent Agenda as attached. The consent agenda was approved on a motion by Clay Scott seconded by Jamie Kratzer — motion carried 6-0.
 - a) **APPROVAL OF MINUTES:** Minutes were approved as presented for the following:
 - (1) Regular Board of Education Meeting of Mar. 9, 2020
 - (2) Special Board of Education Meeting meeting of Mar. 23, 2020
 - (3) Special Board of Education Meeting meeting of Mar. 30,
 - b) *APPROVAL OF BILLS: Approved the transfer from the General Fund on an "as need basis" to cover expenses attributed to the Food Service, Transportation, Vocational Education, and Bilingual Special Funds, and to pay bills in the amount of \$1,074,193.84.

c) **HIGH PLAINS EDUCATIONAL COOP (HPEC)**: Meeting minutes from Mar. 26, 2020.

d) PRINCIPAL REPORTS:

4) **NON-ACTION ITEMS PUBLIC FORUM**: none

5) **REPORTS:**

- a) **Correspondence**: Jett Moyer thanked the Board for its support of his effort to complete his Eagle Scout project near the football field. Vice President Jim Wilson arrived at 7:08 p.m.
- b) Curriculum & Instruction: Mr. Krug shared the new OVT date of May 7, 2020 with the board. Also, was a review of the HMH textbook contracts and their end dates. A summary of the weekly feedback responses from parents about the district's Continuous Learning Plan (CLP) was shared with the board. Mr. Krug will work with the PDC committee to identify a recommendation for what portal the district uses to log professional development.
- c) **Superintendent's Report:** Superintendent Younger presented to the Board the completed Continuous Learning Plan waiver application for State Board approval at their meeting tomorrow, April 14, 2020. Mr. Younger also presented to the Board the "Facility Timeline" with pictures from district tours of Scott City, KS; Goodland, KS; and Brush, CO on March 10 & 11, 2020.

6) **NEW BUSINESS:**

- a) BOE self-evaluation Mr. Younger collected and will tabulate the Board evaluations and present the information in May.
- b) Opaa! contract The Opaa! contract will need to be approved in May.
- c) School handbooks Mr. Younger indicated that historically this has been the month for handbooks to be presented to the board. Due to the COVID-19 circumstances, this has been delayed. Handbooks will be put together over the next couple weeks by principals and made available to board members via email by Mr. Younger for review in advance of the May meeting where the board will be asked to approve.

7) **OLD BUSINESS:**

a) Capital Outlay projects – Mr. Younger reviewed the projects. A minor change order was approved to change the order of bleacher removal at the Kepley gymnasium.

8) **ACTION ITEMS:**

a) District calendar - Mr. Younger presented to the board a draft calendar for the 2020-2021 school year. Feedback from teachers will be solicited in the weeks ahead to finalize the calendar and present it to the board for approval at the May board meeting. Motion to approve the calendar as

- presented pending parent-teacher conferences feedback from staff made by Clay Scott with regrets. Seconded by Mike Meyer. Motion carried 7-0
- b) Bonus movement The following teachers were recommended to the board for Bonus Movement approval: Candee Amerin, Tammy Barb, Kim Sandoval, Bob Buhr, and Teresa Johnson. Motion to Bonus Movement for the aforementioned teachers made by Ron Smith. Seconded by Mike Meyer. Motion carried 7-0.

9) **REVIEW LITIGATION WITH LEGAL COUNSEL:** None

10) **EXECUTIVE SESSION:**

a) At 8:10 p.m. President Nightengale moved to go into executive session for 15 minutes to discuss personnel information pursuant to non-elected personnel exception under KOMA, and the open board meeting will resume in the boardroom at 8:25 p.m. Second by Clay Scott. Motion carried 7-0. Superintendent Younger and Mr. Krug were invited into the executive session.

11) **PERSONNEL:**

- a) Motion to approve administrative contracts for Marcia Raines (Principal, Hickok Elementary) and Nikki Garcia (Principal, Sullivan Elementary) made by Clay Scott. Seconded by Jamie Kratzer. Motion carried 7-0.
- b) Motion to approve teaching contracts for Kristen Caldwell (Hickok), Jen Hittle (KMS – ½ time) made by Ron Smith. Seconded by Jamie Kratzer. Motion carried 7-0.
- c) Motion to accept the resignation of Chelsea Hardin (Sullivan Elementary) with regrets made by Jamie Kratzer. Seconded by Ron Smith. Motion carried 7-0.

12) **NEGOTIATIONS:**

a) At 8:28 p.m. President Nightengale moved to go into executive session for 10 minutes to discuss negotiations pursuant to the exception for employer-employee negotiations under KOMA, and the open board meeting will resume in the boardroom at 8:38 p.m. Seconded by Ron Smith. Motion carried 7-0. Superintendent Younger and Mr. Krug were invited into the executive session

13) **OTHER:**

a)

14) **ADJOURNMENT:**

a) At 8:40 p.m. Jamie Kratzer moved to adjourn the meeting, seconded by Mike Meyer. Motion passes 7-0.

X	X	$\langle \rangle$	C	\mathcal{K}	X	\mathbf{X}	X	X	X	X	X	X	X	()	Ω	C	\mathcal{K}	X	X	X	X	$\langle \rangle$	C	\mathcal{K}	X	X	X	X	X	X	X	X	X	X	$\langle \rangle$	Σ	$\langle \rangle$	C	XX	C	X	\mathcal{C}	X	X	X	X	X	X	X	X	X
X	\mathcal{L}	$\langle \rangle$	C	X	X	X	X	X	X	X	X	Х	X	\mathcal{O}	$\overline{\mathcal{O}}$	C	X	X	X	X	X	$\langle \rangle$	C	\mathcal{C}	X	X	X	X	X	X	X	X	X	\mathcal{L}	$\langle \rangle$	Σ	∇	C	\mathcal{L}	C	\mathbf{X}^{\prime}	C	X	X	X	X	X	X	X	X	X

President Margaret Nightengale	Vice-President Jim Wilson
Board Member Mike Meyer	Board Member Diana Nunez
Board Member Clay Scott	Board Member Ron Smith
Board Member: Jamie Kratzer	Board Clerk Chad Krug
Doord Clarky Chad Vena	

Board Clerk: Chad Krug Recorded by: Chad Krug

*Attachments